Digital Download


Mesh Of Wire
Table Matters Soundtrack

STORM BUGS A Safe Substitute

CD album | gg337
Storm Bugs are an English post punk band formed in 1978 in Deptford, London, by Philip Sanderson and Steven Ball who had met in the Medway Towns, England. The band have been linked to a number of genres including: cassette culture, industrial music and DIY. Storm Bugs were initially active between 1978 and 1982 and reformed in 2001. Sanderson had experimented with tape recorders whilst still at school, after moving to London in 1978 he began to get out of hours access to the electronic music studio at Goldsmiths College and also purchased a Revox reel to reel tape recorder setting up a DIY home studio. It was using these facilities that Sanderson recorded much of the Storm Bugs output from 1978 to 1980 with Ball designing the artwork for the releases. The band released three cassettes albums on Snatch Tapes: A Safe Substitute (1980), Storm Bugs (1980) and Gift (1981). Further recordings were made in 1981/1982 but not released with the band effectively going into hibernation for 20 years. Storm Bugs were rediscovered in 2000 when they were included on the bootleg LP I Hate the Pop Group, on Vertical Slum Records. A year later Snatch Tapes reactivated and released a compilation of some of the bands finer moments from the past, entitled Let's Go Outside And Get It Over, this was the start of a re-issue programme that saw much of Storm Bugs original material being rereleased on vinyl. This is the first release of their debut album on CD, containing three bonus tracks. Full tracklist: 1. Mesh Of Wire/Objective/Car Situations/Mesh Of Wire (Reprise) 2. Hodge 3. Solely From 4. Blackheath Episode 5. He Rose Up Again 6. 333 7. Table Matters Soundtrack. Full price: € 17,-/copy incl. worldwide shipping.